Advisory Board

At the 2018 Annual General Meeting of Canada India Foundation, held in August 2018, members unanimously agreed to form an Advisory Board that would guide the Foundation to explore more effective ways to achieve its mandate. Ajit Someshwar, the past Chair, and one of the founding members of Canada India Foundation was the unanimous choice to be the Chair of the new advisory board.


Canada India Foundation is delighted to announce the Advisory Board comprising the following members.



Anil Arora

Chief Statistician, StatsCan

Anil Arora is the Chief Statistician of Canada since September 2016. He has led significant transformational initiatives throughout his career, with experience and partnerships spanning all three levels of government, the private sector and international organizations, including the UN and the OECD. He has led projects on high-profile policy issues, legislative and regulatory reform, and overseen large national programs. He was the Assistant Deputy Minister of Minerals and Metals Sector in 2010, the Assistant Deputy Minister of Science and Policy Integration in 2013, the Assistant Deputy Minister of Health Products and Food Branch in 2014. Mr. Arora has led several business missions to India and recently provided expert advice on the modernization of India’s statistical system.


Gary Comerford

Chair, Board of Trustees, Brock University

International management and financial specialist Gary Comerford is the Chair of Brock University’s Board of Trustees. Currently the CEO of Comerford Management Consultants, his career has included appointments as Vice-President of Marketing for Canada Permanent Trust, and Senior Vice-President (International) for Sun Life of Canada. He served as Sun Life’s general manager for India and is past president of the Canada India Business Council. He is also a past chair of the Shaw Festival Board.


Ajit Bapat


Ajit Bapat is actively involved in consulting through his company Power Solutions. He is well known in the electrical distribution field for his 40 years of expertise in the art and science of ground fault protection. He holds a Master’s degrees in business administration and electrical engineering, specializing in power systems and power system protection. He has interest in ground fault protection; digital metering systems; microprocessor based integrated systems for protection; and the metering, monitoring, and control of power distribution systems. A member of Professional Engineers Ontario, he is also a senior life member of the IEEE.


Arvind Gupta

Professor, University of Toronto and University of British Columbia

Arvind Gupta is a Professor at the University of Toronto’s Department of Computer Science. He was appointed as a Distinguished Visiting Professor at the U of T for a two-year term in 2015. He was the President of the University of British Columbia prior to his return to Toronto. Professor Gupta is an alumnus of the Computer Science department, having earned his master’s and doctoral degrees at U of T in 1985 and 1991. Before serving as UBC’s president, he was CEO and scientific director of Mitacs Canada, a national non-profit that develops research projects, led by graduate students, between universities and industry.