Agriculture & Food Processing Forum 2012



High-profile public policy forum aimed at  developing a policy and strategy framework for enhancing two-way trade and investment between Canada and India in the Agriculture and Food Processing sector.

Forum Topics & Highlights

• Food Security, a Global Perspective (Vancouver/Saskatoon)
• Food Processing (Vancouver/Saskatoon)
• Attracting Investment/Trade Agriculture (Vancouver)
• Family Farms and Cooperatives (Vancouver)
• Logistics and Supply Chain (Vancouver)
• Cash Crops and Value Added Products (Vancouver)
• Technology and Productivity Enablers (Saskatoon)
• Fertilizers and Micronutrients (Saskatoon)
• Current Opportunities/Challenges (Saskatoon)
• Recommendations for Cooperation (Saskatoon)

CIF Co-Chairs of the Forum

• V.I. Lakshmanan
• Jay Minhas

Held On: September 10-13, 2012

Location: Vancouver (Marriott Pinnacle Downtown) & Saskatoon (University of Saskatchewan)

Special Guest Speakers

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, 11th President of India (via Video)

Hon. Christy Clark, Premier of British Columbia (via Video)

Hon. Lynne Yelich, Minister – Western Canada Diversification, Govt. of Canada

Hon. Norm Letnick, Minister of Agriculture, Govt. of British Columbia

Hon. Moira Stillwell, Minister of Social Development, Govt. of British Columbia

Hon. Micheal deJong, Minister of Finance, Govt. of British Columbia

Hon. Manmeet Bhullar, Minister of Service, Govt. of Alberta

Hon. Donald Aitchison, Mayor of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Hon. Greg Robertson, Mayor of Vancouver

Mr. Ravi Shankar Aisola, Consul General of India in Vancouver

Mr. Scott Slessor, Consul General of Canada in Chandigarh, India

Other Speakers and Panelists

Manish Gupta, Director, IFFCO, India

Senator Dr. Asha Seth, Senate of Canada

Yuen Pau Woo, CEO, Asia Pacific Foundation Canada

Naveen Prakash, Jt. Secretary, Ministry of Food and PD, Govt. of India

Michael Trevan, Dean Agriculture, University of Manitoba

Venkatesh Athreya, Advisor, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation

Kent Mullinix, Director, Food Security, Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Murray B Isman, Dean, Land and Food Systems, University of British Columbia

Amir Virani, PNP Holdings Limited, Founder –  Golden Boy Foods

Sudha Kshatriya, Trade Commissioner, DFAIT, Canada

Saumitra Chaudhuri, Member Planning Commission, Govt. of India

Robert Kang, Director of Listed Issuer Services, TSX

Bill Murray, Managing Director, Investment Banking, Altacorp

Jim Taylor, Founding Partner, Avrio

G. Chandrashekhar, Senior Editor, The Hindu Business Line

Satwinder Bains, University of Fraser Valley

Mike Leslie, CEO, Food Innovation Centre, BC

Arran Stephens & Ratana Stephens – Founder’s/CEO’s Nature’s Path Organic

Parm Bains, President & CEO Westberry Foods

Sukh Kahlon, Director, BC Raspberry Council

Preet Marwaha, CEO, OrganicLives, British Columbia

Ramesh Chandra, Entrepreneur Farmer, India

Alexis Mackintosh (Founder) & Mr. Steve Dadson (CEO), PCS BioFuels Ltd.

Dal Banwait, Director of Business Development, Plant Genome Sciences, India

Raju Agarwal, Executive Director, One Prosper International

S.A. Patil, Chairman, Karnataka Krishi Commission, India

G.V. Shankar, Consultant, Enterprise Saskatchewan

Amrik Sangha, CEO, Global Agricultural Transloading

Tom Baumann, Expert Agriculture team Limited

Debbie Estell, Executive Director BC Blueberry Council

M.V. Hegde, Scientific Advisor, Bharatiya Vidyapeeth, Maharashtra, India

George Ferguson, Dairy Exports Group, Canadian Food Inspection Agency

P.K.Khanna, Technical Advisor, Punjab Agricultural University, India

Robin Young, India Projects Manager, Food Development Centre, Manitoba

Hon. Rob Norris, MLA, Province of Saskatchewan

Ilene Busch-Vishniac, President, U of Saskatchewan

Dean Vey, Senior Advisor, Agriculture and Agri Food Canada

Roseann Runte, President, Carleton University

Ernie Barber, University of Saskatchewan

Jerome Konecsni, CEO, Innovation Saskatchewan

Mary Buhr, Dean, Agriculture and Bio-resources, University of Saskatchewan

Wilf Keller, President/CEO, AgWest Bio

Ramesh Chandra, Entrepreneur Farmer, India

Adrian M. Johnston, Vice President, International Planet Nutrition Institute

R. Sridhar, Chamco Chemicals

Jeff Schoenau, Professor and Research Chair, University of Saskatchewan

Philip Stephan, Vice-President, Saskatchewan Research Council

Bert Vanbenberg, NSERC Industrial Research Chair, University of Saskatchewan

Ramesh Rawal, BAIF, India

Ron DePauw, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Bernard Laarveld, Professor, U of Saskatchewan

Brad Trost, MP, Saskatoon-Humboldt

Venkatesh Meda, Professor, University of Saskatchewan

D. Jayas, Vice-President (Research& International), University of Manitoba

Robin Young, India Projects Manager, Food Development Centre, Manitoba

Alvin Ulrich, President and CEO, Biolin Research

Don Stephenson, CEPA Chief Negotiator, Canada

Scott Brown, Executive Director, Gov of Saskatchewan

S.A. Patil, Chairman, Karnataka Krishi Commission

Jennifer Evancio, Director, Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership

Reno Pontarollo, Chief Scientific Officer, Genome Prairie

Paul McCaughey, Science Director, Agriculture and AgriFood Canada

Carl Potts, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Pulse Growers

Dr. Bob Tyler, Professor, Food and Bioproduct Sciences, U of Saskatchewan